Indi Global News


Bharat Ratna Awarded to 5 Distinguished Individuals

This year’s Bharat Ratna awards ceremony witnessed a historic moment as five exceptional individuals were honored, including former Prime Ministers and a renowned agricultural scientist.
bharat ratna
bharat ratna
Highest Tally in a Single Year
Surpassing the previous record set in 1999, this year’s Bharat Ratna awards marked the highest number of recipients in a single year, a testament to the outstanding contributions of these individuals.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Announcement
Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to social media to announce the recipients of the Bharat Ratna. Former Prime Ministers PV Narasimha Rao and Chaudhary Charan Singh, along with agricultural scientist MS Swaminathan, were among those bestowed with India’s highest civilian honor.
Celebrating Exceptional Contributions
Prime Minister Modi highlighted the remarkable achievements of each recipient. He praised Narasimha Rao for his visionary leadership in driving India’s economic progress and prosperity.
Similarly, Charan Singh’s dedication to farmers’ welfare and his commitment to democracy during challenging times were commended. Singh’s resilience against the Emergency and his role in nation-building continue to inspire.

Dr. MS Swaminathan’s contributions to agriculture and food security were also acknowledged, with Prime Minister Modi emphasizing his pivotal role in modernizing Indian agriculture.
Prestigious Recipients
The list of Bharat Ratna awardees for 2024 also includes BJP veteran LK Advani and former Bihar Chief Minister Karpoori Thakur, both honored by the government.
Notable Awardees
Among the recipients, four will receive the honor posthumously, while Advani, aged 96, is the sole living recipient.
2024 Bharat Ratna Awardees
  • Karpoori Thakur (Posthumous): Known as ‘Jan Nayak,’ Thakur, former Bihar Chief Minister, will become the 49th recipient of the Bharat Ratna.
  • Lal Krishna Advani: A stalwart of Indian politics, Advani has served in various capacities, including as Home Minister and Deputy Prime Minister.
  • Pamulaparthi Venkata Narasimha Rao (Posthumous): Recognized for his pivotal role in introducing economic reforms during his tenure as Prime Minister.
  • Chaudhary Charan Singh (Posthumous): Remembered for his leadership during a crucial period in Indian politics, especially in spearheading anti-Congress movements.
  • Mankombu Sambasivan Swaminathan (Posthumous): Renowned for his contributions to Indian agriculture and farmers’ welfare.
Significance of Bharat Ratna
Instituted in 1954, the Bharat Ratna is awarded to individuals for exceptional service or performance of the highest order, irrespective of background or position. The recipients join a prestigious list of individuals who have contributed significantly to the nation’s progress and welfare.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top